When the sky cracked open

Suddenly the sky broke apart (I say ‘sky’ because really, you couldn’t see any clouds!) and it rained. So so heavily; it flooded our tent. As I stood there drenched in just 5 mins, facing the sky while the rain drops wash my face, praying and crying; I smile.

I look around to see the joy on everyone’s face and everyone’s crying but also full of joy; exclaiming that this is the first time it rained on the day of Arafah in years! And it was just scorching heat 5 mins ago! So scorching the whole day (the whole week even), that we had to use spray bottles constantly to cool the air and drink lots of Zamzam to ensure we didn’t faint!

But the rain… it was magical. Miraculous. Beautiful. Just… out of this world.

It MADE us believe that if on a normal summer day in the middle of a scorching desert, Allah can send us heavy heavy rain, then splitting the moon, splitting the sea, drowning a nation, lifting the mountains, or anything unimaginable as a matter of fact, was definitely possible too.

Imagine making dua that moment with that sort of faith in Him.

Imagine having those duas been answered and looking back to that day again!

Such is the faith we need to have.
“Never have I failed in my supplication to You Ya Rabb. Never.”

Like flowing water that cleans the stone while also softening it a bit.. The rain softened our hearts as it fell over us. We felt lighter. We prayed more. We cried more. But we also felt so much joy and so much closer to You, ya Rabb.

It was a beautiful gift of a memory I rejoice even now. It makes me smile when I think of it. And I’m so grateful, He made me a part of it.

#Alhamdulillah     #Hajj2019

Close your eyes and think of something that makes you smile and please share it with me below! 🙂

WhatsApp Image 2020-01-13 at 12.14.17 AM

About Sameera Hameed

The Meadows. Dawn. And a Pen. From a Soul that longs for its long lost Abode..
This entry was posted in Matters Of The Heart, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When the sky cracked open

  1. Yacoob says:

    Alhamdulillah. You were so blessed to be there for that day. May the memories remain strong within your heart and mind, and continue to inspire you until the end. And may you, and all of those who wish to go back, get abundant future invitations to fulfill this blessed journey repeatedly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment